PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] need help getting F-spot 0.8.2

donwolfani
March 28th, 2012, 06:51 PM
ok forgive me for being a noob at this as i am very new to ubuntu because i just jumped from mandriva to this distro.
most things i can get working easily enough but on ubuntu 10.04.4 lts i can only get f-spot 0.6 or so to install through the package manager.
when i try the tar.gz from the main f-spot website i keep getting asked for dependancy files and when i google a .deb package for each of them it asks for another dependancy and goes on and on like that.
does anyone have the ability to make/already possess/ know where to find a .deb package for this updated version of f-spot that comes with all dependancies and things?
sorry but i can't use the older version because my database file that i backed up when i left my old distro is set up however they made it in the new f-spot and refuses to load into f-spot 0.6

I know this sounds small but i have over 3000 photos with like over 100 tags i was using to sort them out. and i was only half way or so from being finished organizing after working on them in my spare time over the course of more than a year so no I refuse to start over with the older f-spot and have to redo all this work. pls someone help me quickly I have spent 2 weeks trying to get my machine up and running properly and this is the last thing on my to do list before i can accept any distro of linux i try as working

mörgæs
March 30th, 2012, 09:43 AM
Why did you choose 10.04? In the new releases you get 0.8.2 by default:

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/f-spot

donwolfani
April 2nd, 2012, 03:11 AM
because on the website the only other relaese was 11 and it was still saying beta on it on top of the fact that people have told me that ubuntu 11 is having similar problems as mandriva 2011.