PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] oneiric won't boot- reinstall and retrieve data from Deja Dup?

CJ_Hudson
March 27th, 2012, 09:36 PM
Hi,
I reluctantly admit I will have to reinstall Ubuntu after it refuses to boot any longer (see my thread started here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1942272 ) however, my question to you is, please, once I have reinstalled Ubuntu how easy is it to restore all my files etc. from my last backup with Deja Dup? (assuming I can remember my password- I never thought I'd actually have to use it, I've been running Ubuntu since 2005 and can't ever remember having to do a fresh install because of a serious system error! :-))

QIII
March 27th, 2012, 09:48 PM
I don't think "Nuke 'em from orbit" is the only choice just yet.

If you can get to the recovery mode right now (I realize you were getting all sorts of frustrating behavior based on your previous thread), choose the option to check the disk. If you get no satisfaction, get back to the recovery mode and start the boot in verbose mode to see where it hangs.

CJ_Hudson
March 31st, 2012, 09:43 PM
Thanks I'll try that.
EDIT:
I got 2 things:
A bash script window accessed from the boot OS selector screen (I have Ubuntu and XP on 1 HD and W7 on a second HD) but didn't know how to run chkdsk from this; and a pink screen with 'resume', 'fsck', 'remount' and 'root' options, which appeared after the verbose boot (result of "Ubuntu with Linux 3.0.0-16-generic (recovery mode)" option in boot menu. Selecting fsck results in the message:

[ 13.981642] Adding 4000180k swap on /dev/sda2. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:4000180k
fsck from util-linux 2.19.1
/dev/sda5: 380102/4653056 files (1.4% non-contiguous), 3305579/18599238 blocks
[ 150.566626] EXT3-fs (sda5): using internaljournal

Finished, please press enter