PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installed software, Installed drivers, turned pc off and reinstalled everything (Read

liamhale
March 26th, 2012, 07:10 AM
Hello Guys,
well i am new to Ubuntu, i have spent almost my entire sunday installing this etc.
i used the usb installer, but i used my 500gb external hard drive for this, a prompt did come up on first installation saying remove installation things now but my computer would not run Ubuntu without putting it in, so i have to keep it in in order to use it.
it doesn't run an entire wipe and then full installation evertime, but deletes everything i have done prevously and it is like stating from scratch again.
i cannot acces my hard drive under 'my computer' either, it just has my 80gb internal drive witch appears to have the system files already in there.
if i unplug my hard drive the screen will just go black.

thats everything i have tried and i have got nowhere, is there anyone able to help me?

thanks

Liam

darkod
March 26th, 2012, 09:08 AM
Hold on.
How did you try to install, using an ubuntu cd or using a prepared bootable usb stick?

What are you trying to install as destination, the internal hdd or external usb hdd?

liamhale
March 26th, 2012, 04:45 PM
Hold on.
How did you try to install, using an ubuntu cd or using a prepared bootable usb stick?

What are you trying to install as destination, the internal hdd or external usb hdd?
i installed using a hard drive, and the destination must be the hard drive, although it states it is using the 80gb hard drive witch is my internal hard drive?

oldfred
March 26th, 2012, 05:03 PM
Lets see what is installed where, with external plugged in run the boot info script. Darko has the curent version in his signature and it has some instructions, but there is a newer git/test version that has some fixes.

You can directly download it:
The git/testing version has some fixes: