PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie Ubuntu install issues on Live USB

DaveBilling
March 22nd, 2012, 12:39 PM
Hi there

I installed Ubuntu 11.10 onto a USB stick, and it works well on the whole. However, I would like a permanent installation on my USB that I can boot whenever I want. At the moment, everytime I boot from the USB it comes up with the install menu offering me two options - whether to "try it" or install it to my hard drive. I don't want to install it alongside Windows 7 at this point in time. I want to run it from the USB for the time being. I installed it using a program called LiLi USB creator. How do I install it 'permanently' on the USB drive without having to click on the "try" option, and thus, retain all my settings?

Also, the first time I ran it, it mounted my external hard drive fine. Every time after that, it came up with a code 21 error. I'll need help with this one as well.

As you can tell, I'm a newbie to Ubuntu and I haven't used Linux in donkey's years. Any help with this would be appreciated, and the sooner the better. Thanks very much.

cortman
March 22nd, 2012, 01:42 PM
Hi, welcome to the forums and Ubuntu!

Here's a whole wiki page (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/LiveUsbPendrivePersistent) on creating persistent USB installations.

DaveBilling
March 22nd, 2012, 02:31 PM
Thanks, I've already got it up and running. I can save data on it, no problem, but not system settings. So every time I reboot it starts from scratch, although programs and data that I've installed are still there. I created 1.3gb persistence data using the LiLi utility, but every time I plug it in it asks whether I want to try it or install it onto the hard disk. I followed everything to the letter.

cortman
March 22nd, 2012, 03:40 PM