PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dual Boot issues

Oswiu
March 22nd, 2012, 08:34 AM
Hi folks,
I hope someone can help with a boot issue I'm having. This is my first post and I'm still relatively new to ubuntu so please bear with me.
I've built a few dual boot PCs before, basically using the ubuntu downloader via USB pen to install onto various XP machines and it always presented me with XP boot manager, which I know how to configure.
My friend asked me to rebuild her XP laptop and add ubuntu as a second option; she liked the look of it, but still needs the familiarity of XP to get work done as its her only machine. I installed a fresh copy of XP and then installed ubuntu expecting XP boot manager, but instead got GRUB 1.99.
Unfortunately I know nothing about GRUB configurations and it defaults to Ubuntu as main boot OS instead of XP.

So my dilemma is this:
I'd prefer to use XP boot manager first and for it to default to XP though if GRUB is easy enough to configure I'm happy to use that but need to know how to configure it to default to XP.

I've googled the GRUB man page, but there is a lot in there and most other posts refer to GRUB2.

Thanks

Bucky Ball
March 22nd, 2012, 09:26 AM
Easiest is to install Grub Customizer in Ubuntu:

https://launchpad.net/~danielrichter2007/+archive/grub-customizer (https://launchpad.net/%7Edanielrichter2007/+archive/grub-customizer)

Just follow the instructions. To get to software sources open update manager and hit 'Settings' bottom left.

Once installed you can set the grub timeout or change the order so Win boots first.

You would be well advised to be working with a stable, long-term support release if you are installing to a friend's machine (as you won't be there to nut out issues always). The current LTS is 10.04 which is supported for another 13 months. By mid-year 12.04 LTS will be fairly stable and it is a one click upgrade to it.

darkod
March 22nd, 2012, 09:58 AM