PDA

View Full Version : "Need a job? Learn Linux" But how?

j814wong
March 21st, 2012, 09:54 PM
I'm currently only a high school student but I plan on going into the the computer science/engineering industry. How can I start learning Linux skills?

ccrs8
March 21st, 2012, 11:14 PM
I'm currently only a high school student but I plan on going into the the computer science/engineering industry. How can I start learning Linux skills?

The best way is to just do it. Install Linux. You are on an Ubuntu Forum, so you obviously aren't a complete noob or completely unaware of Linux, so that's a good first step. If you have a computer that is powerful enough, you can install a program like VirtualBox and install many different Linux distributions to try them out. If you actually want to "learn" Linux you honestly should stay away from the ultra user-friendly distributions like Mint or even Ubuntu and go to one of the older more traditional distros that other distros are based off of. Debian or Fedora are both nice traditional distros. Gentoo will force you to learn the ins and outs of compiling from source. Heck, one of the BSDs would be a great way to learn the "Unix" way, which is the basis of Linux.

Lucradia
March 21st, 2012, 11:20 PM
Python is a good way to start.

keithpeter
March 21st, 2012, 11:20 PM
If you actually want to "learn" Linux you honestly should stay away from the ultra user-friendly distributions like Mint or even Ubuntu and go to one of the older more traditional distros that other distros are based off of.

Hello j814wong and all

Disclaimer: I don't work in IT

When you have your virtual machine running, try CentOS. CentOS is a binary equivalent to Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) which is widely used commercially on servers.

Paqman
March 21st, 2012, 11:36 PM