PDA

View Full Version : Do you make a living out of Linux - if so, in what way?

Ted_Smith
June 11th, 2006, 05:18 PM
Hi

I'm still a relative newb to Linux, but I'm learning heaps daily, and am about to embark on a 'HOWTO Guide' for the problem I resolved here (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=186930). In other words, I think I've got the 'Linux Bug'.

This afternoon, I was browsing some of the IT related job adverts on the Internet, and there was one titled 'Linux Consultant' and the requirements was to install and deploy Red Hat on 24 Servers at £414 p\day (that's about $700 USD) over a period of 2 weeks.

Now obviously I'd never dream of applying for it but it did make me realise how much more valued Linux experts are over Windows experts. Subsequently I stumbled across this 'Linux Careers' FAQ : http://www.bellevuelinux.org/faq_career.html which is also very interesting.

My question to the community is, how many of you make a living using Linux, what is that you do, and of course, do you enjoy it? Would you recommend a full time career in Linux vs having fun with it at home? (I realise the Linux community is largely based on people's volunteering but I'm talking specifically in relation to the corporate\government field where people are hired as consultants\contractors).

Laslty, can anyone recommend some good courses\home study courses\college based courses to obtain Linux certification? What kind of Linux Ceritifcation is there (some kind of equiavlent to MCSE?)

Cheers

Ted

IYY
June 11th, 2006, 05:22 PM
I do, more or less. My job mainly involves coding in C, but the platform is a special super-light distribution of Linux, so I was hired mainly because I was familiar with it. I love the work itself, but there is too much of it!

To learn the more advanced commands, I'd suggest sites like the Linux Documentation Project. For example, this book is good: http://www.tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/

jon_benge
June 11th, 2006, 05:31 PM