PDA

View Full Version : What Language(s)?

Cerastes
March 18th, 2012, 06:41 PM
Hello,

I am a bit of a newbie to both Linux and programming.

I would like to accomplish the following goals:

1. Build a Linux based web-server.

2. Develop a website that allows users to create accounts where they will be able to create files and share those files with other users.

3. Develop applications for Android and iOS that will share data in both directions with the website.

I have begun learning C++. I'm not sure if it is the best choice for my objectives. I would appreciate any advice the community may have for me about the best way to start toward my objectives.

Thanks in advance!

schauerlich
March 18th, 2012, 06:52 PM
I would like to accomplish the following goals:

Do you mean write web server software, or maintain a web server that uses linux based software? Either way, use Apache (http://httpd.apache.org/) or something, don't write it yourself.

2. Develop a website that allows users to create accounts where they will be able to create files and share those files with other users.

Sounds like you're asking for a lawsuit for copyright infringement.

3. Develop applications for Android and iOS that will share data in both directions with the website.

I have begun learning C++. I'm not sure if it is the best choice for my objectives. I would appreciate any advice the community may have for me about the best way to start toward my objectives.

Android uses Java and iOS uses Objective-C. You also can't (realistically) develop for iOS on Linux. You need to use Apple's IDE, Xcode, which requires running OS X, which in turn requires owning a Mac (OSx86 notwithstanding). You also need to pay a $99/year fee to test code on real devices and submit apps to the app store. If you're looking for an open/Linux based solution, you'd better go with Android. They have pretty good Eclipse integration, so if you're already using that it shouldn't be too hard of a transition.

Cerastes