PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Connection on New Install

czechman45
March 17th, 2012, 10:21 PM
Hi all, I'm very new to Ubuntu, so this is probably a pretty common question. I've checked the forums for answers to it, but so far the things I've found either don't apply or don't work.

So, I just installed Ubuntu 11.10 onto my machine (Dell Inspiron). My wireless internet was working fine with Windows XP and still is. However, when I try to run it in Ubuntu, it doesn't work.

First, I found advice to run iwconfig in the terminal. After a bunch of other stuff, it said 'disabled'. Then I tried to change this with the dell keyboard wireless control. I checked iwconfig and still got the same thing.

I then realized that there was a drop down menu on the top right of the desktop for network connections. It said 'wireless connection', but it was grayed out and said firmware missing. I followed another person's advice and went to System Settings-> Additional Drivers. It searched for and installed a new driver (Broadcom STA wireless driver) and then I restarted.

Now when I run iwconfig nothing wireless related even shows up. Also, no wireless shows up on the drop down menu on the desktop. I can only see 'wireless connection 1' and 'VPN connections'.

What do I need to do to get this thing working? Any help you could offer would be wonderful.

Thank you,
Dan Geiger

ts3
March 17th, 2012, 11:29 PM
It searched for and installed a new driver (Broadcom STA wireless driver) and then I restarted.

Ahoj, czechman ;)

First, it looks like you have a broadcom wireless card. Running the following command in terminal will show you which of the many you have on your dell: