PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Windows 7 & Ubuntu duel booting using

Scott Tabor
March 17th, 2012, 07:31 PM
a Virtual Machine program. I am trying to run Ubuntu on my laptop while still having my Windows 7 OS on the same machine. I know that you folks would be able to help me here. I wanted to be able to use a Virtual Machine software but don't know which to use that isn't nerd heavy. I have NO experience with VM software. Would love to be able to run both OS's at the same time if possible.

Is this possible? And if so would somebody please give me a step by step instruction or guide me to said tutorial? I have Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager software already downloaded and installed but I don't want to use it due to the fact that I don't want to mess up my system. Also, I have Windows 7 Ultimate on my laptop if it has something better already in it's guts. Please help. I am eager to start learning Ubuntu.
):P

Old_Grey_Wolf
March 17th, 2012, 08:07 PM
Is this possible? And if so would somebody please give me a step by step instruction or guide me to said tutorial? I have Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager software already downloaded and installed but I don't want to use it due to the fact that I don't want to mess up my system. Also, I have Windows 7 Ultimate on my laptop if it has something better already in it's guts. Please help. I am eager to start learning Ubuntu.
):P

You already have VirtualBox installed, it is one of the easiest to use. You should already have the documentation; however, it is here (https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Documentation).

You really do need a backup of your system before playing around with the operating system. Even those of us with quite a few years of experience have messed up our systems. Backups are a wonderful thing to have.