PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] OMG! Where can I learn about Desktop GUI Options!

ScientificProp
March 17th, 2012, 03:48 AM
OK. I've got Ubuntu installed with a few applications I like. I should settle on a desktop GUI. If I understand correctly, there's Unity, Unity 2D, Gnome2, Gnome3, KDE, and who knows what else. Is there a document somewhere that can explain their characteristics, differences, strengths and/or weaknesses? The latest GUI, Unity, seems to have some bugs (I've read that it doesn't always work with 11.10 and Compiz?).
Since I'm just getting into Ubuntu, I'd like to start with the latest and thereby minimize future upgrade transition headaches, but I have not found a clear explanation of what are my options and what are the tradeoffs.
Can anybody direct me to a document that reviews the operational characteristics, differences, and/or tradeoffs.
Or, maybe they are all functionally similar and I can learn to make any one of them work.?

Thanks, ScientificProp.

xtiano77
March 17th, 2012, 03:59 AM
I would check out these web sites:

http://www.renewablepcs.com/about-linux/kde-gnome-or-xfce
http://www.datamation.com/open-source/gnome-vs.-kde-vs.-unity-performing-seven-basic-tasks-1.html
http://openrelish.blogspot.com/2012/02/kde-vs-gnome-3-vs-unity.html

The last one has some very informative videos. Hope this helps.

ScientificProp
March 17th, 2012, 04:33 AM
Thanks! I've started reading through the material, I'm not sure yet if it'll tell me all that I'd like to know, but it is certainly the kind of information that I'm looking for. I guess the more I read, the less interested in Unity I become.
I guess mu favorite desktop environment / GUI was that of OS/2. I felt that was very customizable and functional.

ScientificProp

jerome1232
March 17th, 2012, 09:01 AM