PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] recommend a GUI for 11.10

s2u
March 16th, 2012, 10:51 AM
noob here looking for a GUI and how to info.
all help is greatly appreciated.

jerome1232
March 16th, 2012, 10:56 AM
A gui for what exactly?

sudodus
March 16th, 2012, 10:58 AM
Welcome to the Ubuntu Forums :-)

It makes it easier to help, if you describe what you have and what you want:
- the computer cpu, ram, graphics
- how you want to use your system (what kind of application program)

dave2001
March 16th, 2012, 10:59 AM
I disliked both the Unity interface and Gnome 3 fallback for 11.10. I went back to 10.04 so I could use the "classic gnome desktop". I suppose when the new upcoming version is released I may switch to it and use KDE.

So in short, I suppose my suggestions are: Either get Kubuntu (Ubuntu with KDE as a default install) or use an earlier version of Ubuntu.

Some new users seem to like Unity(the default GUI on 11.10), so you may want to try it out. Personally I think it's a poor design.

mraandtux
March 16th, 2012, 11:00 AM
What do you want to do? GUI comparisons? Learning to bulid a software? Reading official GTK/QT/Java docs is prefered.

s2u
March 16th, 2012, 06:28 PM
i recently purchased a used IBM W500 Thinkpad that came with Windows Vista.
T9600(2.8GHz), 4GB RAM, ATI FireGL V5700

am tired of being handcuffed by Microsoft and pouring money into a dark hole.

i was trying to find a better audio/music player and found Amarok.
the following image from the installation instructions was displayed.
http://www.simplehelp.net/images/amarokub/am01.png

my desktop does not give me this type of accessibility.

basically i want easier accessibility on the desktop.

Linux is new to me and i am still learning how to get around so please explain in simple terms when possible.

thanks to all for the help.

jerome1232
March 16th, 2012, 06:33 PM