PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installer Options For Separate /Home Partition

MARP1961
March 16th, 2012, 09:27 AM
Does anyone out there agree that the Ubuntu installer should include an option for setting up a separate /Home partition?

I know that this is easy to set up manually under the 'Do Something Else' option; but for beginners I think that perhaps the default installation should include this as a useful feature.

sandesh.sboa
March 16th, 2012, 10:08 AM
Hey im a beginner and I would like to know how to install with The option you mentioned. I have a empty 20 gb partition in my Hard disk formatted in the ntfs format but when I use this option it is not shown separately but combined with my rest of the drives and I get a option as a whole chunk of 350 gb of my 750 gn hard disk. Can u help me out in this ??

Thanks

MARP1961
March 16th, 2012, 11:04 AM
I assume you want your main hard drive to just have Ubuntu and no Windows? If this is the case and you want a separate /Home partition proceed thus with three partitions (primary or logical):

Boot from install CD or USB (I recommend Ubuntu 11.10), allow it to load and choose 'Install Ubuntu'.

Select the install option of 'Do Something Else'.
You can now click on each partition and delete it to clear your drive of any old partitions. Make sure you have copied any important files you might want to keep onto other storage media before you do this!!
If you then click the green tick to apply these changes you will see your hard drive as Unallocated Space.
You can now create your own partitions by clicking New.
You need about 15GB (that's ample) for Ubuntu system. Do this by setting the size, choose ext4 journaling file system and set the mount point to / at the beginning.
I then set a Swap partition which is needed as memory. This needs to be about twice your RAM in size (for me this is 4GB). The Swap does not need a mount point but I place it at the end for 'tidiness'.