PDA

View Full Version : Web-design

ric1321
March 15th, 2012, 06:37 PM
I've been asked by a cousin of mine to help him to develop some websites in HTML 5. Actually he uses Mac and he had suggested me using Rapidweaver. What about linux? Is there some useful platform for my work, considering that I am an absolute beginner?

imachavel
March 15th, 2012, 07:05 PM
create an index.html file in gedit

at the very least it should contain

<body>

<head>

<p>

</p>

</head>

</body>

I know that is a very very basic description that is extremely general, but it will get you started, if you want to see the more complex workings. in your browser(hopefully it's chrome), open a web page that is a favorite of yours, and then go to tools, and view source

ric1321
March 15th, 2012, 07:15 PM
Compozer seems to be a good platform? What do you think? Can I find some good tutorials?

user1397
March 15th, 2012, 07:37 PM
You don't need any special programs to do simple web design (or even complex for that matter). A lot of people just use a basic text editor (like gedit in gnome or kate in kde), save it as .html and go from there.

Some people prefer wysiwyg editors (what you see is what you get) like kompozer or dreamweaver. Professional grade apps like dreamweaver supposedly give greater productivity boosts but I've never used it and I'm not a professional web developer so I couldn't say. I will say that I've heard many people complain about wysiwyg editors because it contains less than perfect code, while if you do it by "hand" you have complete control and you can write very clean code.

A good place to start is here (http://www.w3schools.com/html5/default.asp). That is one of the best web developing tutorial and reference websites on the web, given that it is the official w3c website (world wide web consortium, the makers of all the web standards like html, xhtml, svg etc)

ric1321
March 18th, 2012, 08:16 PM