PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Where to place my files?

dintu
March 14th, 2012, 04:37 PM
i am new to linux file system. i m learning how it works.
i dont know where to place my files ,so that it resides securely even after the OS goes down.

my parttiion as follows,
root-20GB
boot-500MB
swap-2GB
others- 59GB

cortman
March 14th, 2012, 04:43 PM
Welcome to GNU/Linux, and Ubuntu in particular!

Not sure exactly what is meant by your question, but the place for your personal files is in your /home/yourname folder. This is the location to which the "Home" bookmark directs you. The rest of the file system requires root permissions to edit, and it's best left alone.
Where to store your files in case the system goes down? An external hard drive.

Holdolin
March 14th, 2012, 04:47 PM
What files are you trying to place. In Linux, "your" stuff will be in the /home directory somewhere, for example /home/downloads for your...downloads, or /home/documents, and so fourth. If your running Unity as your desktop enviornment, there should be a home folder icon on the left side (by default) of your screen. If you are using GNOME as your desktop enviornemt, there will be a drop down menu for you to naviate your file system.

Welcome to the forums, and to Ubuntu as well ):P

dintu
March 14th, 2012, 04:58 PM
So if i place everything in the home folder will it safe and recoverable when my os goes down.

cortman
March 14th, 2012, 05:08 PM
So if i place everything in the home folder will it safe and recoverable when my os goes down.

Not unless your /home is on a separate partition, and even that doesn't guarantee they'll be safe in the event of an OS crash. Like was said before, always backup your stuff.

Holdolin
March 14th, 2012, 05:22 PM
I *think* dinto referring to a normal shutdown, if so, then yes, your stuff will be safe when your system goes down. The backup is in case of a system crash (and should be done regularly)

flemur13013
March 14th, 2012, 06:13 PM