PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How do I reinstall Ubuntu if there is a rebooting problem?

1928Dodge
March 13th, 2012, 11:46 PM
Bonjour,
Last night I installed Ubuntu 11.10 on an HP that was running windows Vista. I made it the only operating system, so no more windows. Things were working great. I had rebooted it probably 3 times. My only problem was I was trying to get a DVD to play but it said I needed a decryption codec. So I closed the lid (which put it in Sudspension) and unplugged it to move it. Well, apparently the battery was completely dead, so now when I go to boot it up it takes me to "GNU GRUB Version 1.99 - 12ubuntu5" I've read this problem has occurred before and users have posted how to fix it. I am not a programmer in any way, so I'm not following how to resolve what seems to be a minor problem.
Is there a easy way for me to just re-install ubuntu-11.10 desktop-i386.iso ? I don't know what or how to type the command lines to do so. I made my computer go to the CD/DVD drive first for booting, but it just takes me to the Grub screen which eventually leads to the Busybox/(initramfs) . I don't care about losing any data, just want to get a working version of Ubuntu again. If someone could let me know what and how to type in the command line to re-install that would be great.

adstri
March 13th, 2012, 11:54 PM
If you can boot and get to a terminal it might be worth trying the code below to see if this lets you do an update and fixes your problem

sudo update-grub

Adam :)

oldfred
March 14th, 2012, 12:15 AM
Ab-normal shutdown in any system often causes a file corruption issue. Window will run chkdsk. For Ubuntu you may need to run e2fsck on your Linux partition(s).

#From liveCD so everything is unmounted,swap off if necessary, change example with sdb1 to your partition(s) sda1, sda5 or whatever. If not know run this first to see which partitions are ext:
sudo fdisk -lu
#e2fsck is used to check the ext2/ext3/ext4 family of file systems.