PDA

View Full Version : darknets, securing communications

threegremlins
March 13th, 2012, 04:46 PM
I'm with one one of the Occupy groups in Alberta, Canada.
They are bringing new laws to monitor activities of pretty
much everyone without seacrh warrants. I've been looking at
darknets as a possible solution to securing communications,
even though I'm skepticle it's possible with governments
cyber departments. Still, I was scoping out freenet among others and the people there aren't the people I'd like to associate with at least they seem to be the large majority. Wikipedia says you can create your own darknet but, I'm no IT pro so I was wondering how difficult is it to create one. In fact I heard a security analyst on a radio interview say, just being one of the admins on our site, I'm being monitored. When I heard that I created some random characters and posted them online to mess with their heads. If your thinking I just gave it a way, I don't think so because they can't be sure. There's other options too, like encrypting email but just how secure is that these days. If one wanted to set up a secure comm systm how would you do it?

Paqman
March 13th, 2012, 05:06 PM
Tbh, any security system is only as secure as the individuals using it. For a loose-knit group without a tight chain of command like an Occupy group I'd be very wary of assuming that you could maintain decent security. One small slip and it'd be all over. Also, I think you should assume that it's likely that you've been infiltrated to some degree. Even paranoid security-obsessed hacker groups are invariably cracked by the cops turning someone over.