PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Complete Computer Crashes

Brando753
March 13th, 2012, 08:03 AM
Alright so I have been using linux for close to 5 years now. I shifted from ubuntu to xubuntu after being forced to either choose Unity or Gnome3. I got my computer set up very nicely however my laptop crashes at least once to twice a day. The mouse will still move, however nothing else will respond, I am unable to even go into a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+F1). I have tried using both the opensource and Proprietary drivers for my graphics card Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series. I never had this issue on this laptop when I was running gnome2 however I cannot confirm if this issues is related solely to Xfce or if its related to the 11.10 release of ubuntu. If anyone has advice or needs to know more please let me know as this has gone far beyond unstable.

Thanks,

Brando753

wkrekik
March 13th, 2012, 01:58 PM
Hi
When you have shifted from ubuntu to xubuntu, have you formated your ubuntu partition ? And, is your /home located in the system partition or in a separate, dedicaced partition ?

2F4U
March 13th, 2012, 06:51 PM
Did you look into the system log files. The messages are preserved even after the machine has been rebooted.

Brando753
March 14th, 2012, 01:29 AM
When I moved from ubuntu to xubuntu I re-partitioned the / (root) directory and preserved my /home directory. When I first booted the system would not let me login, it kept taking me back to the login screen so I figured it was a configuration file issue so I logged into the terminal and moved all hidden files in my home directory to another folder. The system logged in.

TL;DR I reformatted the root but not the home directory. Yes /home is a separate partition.

As for the logs I looked through them (skimmed) and did not see any {Warning} or {Fatal} or even {Fail} notices and they just went on and on. If there is a specific log I should be looking at please point me in the direction.

Thanks,

Brando753

Brando753