PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Instalation fails

adstri
March 13th, 2012, 03:18 AM
Hi Guys

Absolute Ubuntu beginner here! I wish to install Ubuntu as a separate boot to windows 7 on my PC. I have made an install disk I put it in my computer. When I come to install it doesn't recognise that there is another OS installed or that it is on a partition on the drive. If I go into Disk Utility this can see that the drive is fromatted to have 100GB windows recovery, 215GB windows, 215GB free and 1.6TB free (this is the place I intend to place /home upon install). I have another Harddrive which is a SSD that I was going use for swap (16GB) and / install.

How can i get this to install so that i dont lose the currently installed windows 7 partition?

Another issue that I have had is that I tried backing up windows and then letting Ubunu install and I alway end up with an error:
Code:
Executing 'grub-install /dev/sda' failed

I don't know how to solve this and it leaves computer in an unusable state.

My laptop is running Ubuntu which I really enjoy using hence the change on the Desktop, mainly because windows crashed and lost quite a lot of work that was unrecoverable and ubuntu has never let me down in this way, until now when I try to install it, HELP?

Thank you guys

Sorry if i havent provided enough info!

Adam :smile:

adstri
March 13th, 2012, 03:32 AM
-bump-

adstri
March 13th, 2012, 11:19 AM
Anyone know how to solve this? Please help

Bucky Ball
March 13th, 2012, 11:39 AM
Which release are you using? If you are using 12.04 LTS, don't. It is pre-release, still testing and not a good place for a newcomer to start (unless you know what you are doing or intend going on a steep learning curve). 10.04 LTS might be a better bet; the current long-term support release, supported until April 2013, rock solid (unless there is a specific reason you need to use a newer release I would try it anyway).

16Gb is waaay to big for swap. You only need around 2Gb.