PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] boot live CD problems

DenverChris
March 12th, 2012, 09:40 PM
Hello again, all...

I (a total noob), posted here before, and everyone was really helpful. I've been google-ing for answers to my situation, but havent been able to figure out my specific problem. Keep in mind I'm a newbie... ha ha

So, at first I tried- unsuccessfully- to install Ubuntu... After lots o' problems, I was able to configure my laptop to dual boot Windows and Ubuntu... Ive been playing around with it for a month or so, and I love it!

Now.... I want to install a different distro... I dont want to dual boot. I want to just erase everything and start from scratch. The problem is, I cant get my live CD to boot. After I restart my computer, I get the screen that asks me what OS I want to run- Ubuntu, Windows, or the Ubuntu distro I was NOT able to load... All told, I have about 7 or 8 options to choose from on start up. Some say Ubuntu, and some say Ubuntu/recovery mode... I dont understand why there are so many options.....

So, basically, how do I get my live CD to boot???? When I successfully installed Ubuntu, after I restarted my laptop, the installation screen just automatically came up... Now, it just wont do that :(

What am I doing wrong???

Once again, I'm not very experienced, obviously, but I'm pretty motivated... and excited to learn more...

Please help!!!

Thanks!!!

-Chris

darkod
March 12th, 2012, 10:01 PM
You need to double check if you are booting from the CD-ROM first, before the HDD. Check in BIOS.

If you are booting from the cd first, and the cd is good, it should load the cd regardless what you have on your hdd.

DenverChris
March 12th, 2012, 10:19 PM
Hey Darkod.... thanks for the reply!

I'm sorry if this is tedious or offensive, but I dont know WHAT youre talking about.... I only understand your post in a vague, general sort of way....