PDA

View Full Version : HOWTO: Install LinuxDC++

Pages : [1] 2

stevensheehy
June 11th, 2006, 12:50 AM
UPDATE 1: LinuxDC++ 1.1.0 has been released. This guide is only if you want to compile the latest LinuxDC++ from Bazaar, which may or may not be as stable as 1.1.0. You can find it in our: LinuxDC++ Release PPA (https://launchpad.net/~linuxdcpp-team/+archive/release)

UPDATE 2: You can install debian binaries of our latest unreleased code from our Launchpad PPA (https://launchpad.net/~linuxdcpp-team/+archive/ppa).

First off, for those that don't know, LinuxDC++ (https://launchpad.net/linuxdcpp) is a Linux port of the file-sharing program DC++ (http://dcplusplus.sourceforge.net/). It uses the DC++ core but with a GTK+ GUI. It has also been called by many other names including: linuxdcpp, ldcpp, dcpp, ldc++, dc++ for linux, wulfor. I'm a developer on LinuxDC++ and thought I'd write up a guide to install LinuxDC++ on Ubuntu.

First, download the required dependencies:

bzr
scons
build-essential
libgtk2.0-dev
libglade2-dev
zlib1g-dev
libbz2-dev
libssl-dev
libboost-dev

To do this in one command:

sudo apt-get install bzr scons build-essential libgtk2.0-dev libglade2-dev zlib1g-dev libbz2-dev libssl-dev libboost-dev

There are no official releases of the program since it's still in alpha. This means that there exists no official binaries for any distribution. However, to install LinuxDC++ you can download it through bazaar. Run these commands in your home directory or somewhere else where you have write access:

bzr branch lp:linuxdcpp

Now to install (you can set PREFIX to whatever, but I'd recommend /usr/local):

cd linuxdcpp
scons release=1 PREFIX=/usr/local
sudo scons install

To run:

linuxdcpp
Note: Turn off Assistive Technologies before running LinuxDC++ (System->Preferences->Assistive Technologies). For some reason, it makes linuxdcpp run very slowly and display a bunch of errors.