PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Replace Windows, HP dv6911 om laptop, new hard drive

AlphaMero
March 12th, 2012, 04:03 PM
Hello everyone,

I am new to the ubuntu world, first off i want to say ):P. Very happy about stumbling onto the world of linux. I was wondering if anyone would be interested in helping a complete newbie try and install ubunto on a computer with some issues? I dont really want to post a novel and have no responses. I have done this many times and have basicaly gotten a "good luck with that" response

basics

computer wont fully boot
vista home premium 32x; normal startup once every 30 or so boots
error sometimes (not often)= missing operating system
sometimes boots from disk
installed Ubuntu and it boots around once every 15 power ups.
new 500G hdd, same problems as above

Can anyone walk me through fixing this? so far what I come up with is I need to set up a new partition and add a master boot record. I have no idea how to do this and cant seem to find info that would go with my situation. How do open "shell" for commands? Are there any programs that i can load to disk or usb, to be able to actualy control computer? Do i have to have vista installed on the machine in order to run? Any help greatly appreciated, im willing to try all possible fixes before I smash this thing to bits Office Space style.

Thank you so much for your time

Mero

What we're working with:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01512668&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=3747900

oldfred
March 12th, 2012, 04:22 PM
Welcome to the forums.

If two different operating systems and two different hard drives only let you boot one out of 15 times, something else must be wrong.
Are all connections tight?

You do not have to have Vista installed to fully boot and run Ubuntu or any other system.