PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Losing 1024x768 resolution when nvidia drivers are installed

mabari99
March 9th, 2012, 06:23 AM
I'm new to ubuntu and converted an old window box dell dimension 4600 with 1G memory and an 80G hard drive. Also it has an Nvidia GEFORCE Fx5200 card. I managed to install 10.04, and stepped my way up to 11.10. Unfortunately, I have not been able to use the NVIDIA drivers, either proprietary or open source, and so I can't get to really see what Unity really can do. After literally days of experimenting and having to re-install twice, I have now settled on Gnome Classic, which I have tweaked to my satisfaction, and I have actually got the cube working, which I love. I have discovered that the etc/X11/xorg.conf file does not exist in this environment, so I'm assuming that somehow the OS knows what the hardware is and allows Compiz to interact with the Gnome fallback. Unfortunately Gnome won't run, shows gobbledegook and Ubuntu (which I believe is Unity) does not work properly without the Nvidia drivers. However, if I install ANY of the drivers, I lose the resolution which drops down to 800x600 from 1024x768 and no matter what I try, I can't get it back. I believe that my hardware should be able to work with the other, later shells, but I would really love someone knowledgeable to confirm this and tell me exactly how to install the drivers without blowing up my resolution. Thanks for all your help!

Grenage
March 9th, 2012, 10:59 AM
Greetings.

You have a couple of choices here, you can try and set the correct resolution using xrandr (https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xrandr), or we can put in an xorg.conf (will get used if present). I lean towards the latter, other lean towards the former. If you can reply with your monitor make/model, that will help.

mabari99
March 9th, 2012, 06:39 PM