PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] synaptic not working properly



steveray100
March 9th, 2012, 04:51 AM
i need to install some packages from my ubuntu 10.4.3 disk. I go to synaptic package manager click Edit> Add CD_ROM. ( the disk, which is my ubuntu disk, is already mounted).
I then get a prompt which says: Please insert a disk into the drive. I click ok and recieve the following message:

E: Failed to mount the cdrom

As I mentioned, the disk is already mounted and showing on the desktop.

ottosykora
March 9th, 2012, 07:05 AM
well if the cd is added to the installation sources, the I would simply try to have it unmounted and let it synaptic to mount.
This would be just my idea to try.

Is the cd in the installation sources and is it enabled there?

pavi_elex
March 9th, 2012, 04:20 PM
is your cd rom working perfect?
Then you have to choose this option from " software sources"

jerrrys
March 10th, 2012, 03:30 AM
What makes you think that the packages you want to install are on the CD?