PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble MultiBooting Ubuntu, Windows XP and Windows 7

zealouszee
March 7th, 2012, 12:16 AM
Hello,
First of all, sorry for any stupid stuff I may talk about in here, because I am a complete beginner in this world of Linux and Ubuntu. Somehow, I successfully installed Ubuntu 11.10 and so far, I am loving this new experience. However, my problem is that in the boot menu option, I can see options to select Ubuntu and Windows 7, but there is no boot entry for windows XP. The boot menu also seems different than the old windows boot menu. So, I believe Grub2 or something has replaced that old boot menu. Anyways, can anyone help me recovering the boot entry for windows XP as well? I am hoping, someone would help me out. Please remember, I am an absolute beginner. So, I won't know much when you suggest me any solutions, but I will try.
Thanks.

darkod
March 7th, 2012, 12:46 AM
You have done nothing wrong.

If you select win7 from the grub2 boot menu, does it show you the windows bootloader next with options for win7 and xp?

This is because of how windows works. When you install more than one version of windows, it combines the boot files. Ubuntu discovers boot files and makes entries for the boot menu. Since there is only one set of boot files to discover, it creates only one entry and calls it win7.

If you wanted win7 and xp to show separately, there were things to do before the windows installations. It can be sorted out now too, but it involves making changes that are not very simple (but not too difficult either) and you better leave it as it is.

Just make sure when you select win7 it shows the windows bootloader with options for 7 and xp and that you can boot both of them successfully.

zealouszee
March 7th, 2012, 01:13 AM
Hello,