PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] [Q][Problem]Cannot Change Unity settings (IE icon size) in CCSM or anything else

mtotho
February 29th, 2012, 09:55 PM
Hello,

I am new to Ubuntu/Linux (Have a Dual Boot with Windows 7 and this), but I consider myself a pretty smart user.. but this issue is baffling me.

One of the first things I have noticed is that the dock Icons are WAY to large and I cannot fit nearly the amount of things I would like on it.

Did some google searches, and I found that CompizConfig Settings manager was one of the tools I could use to edit the Unity Settings.

I have the Unity plugin enabled in CCSM, go over to 'experimental' tab, and drag the slider for 'Icon Size' down all the way, but it has absolutely no affect. Additionally, none of the other settings do anything.

I have tried other tools such as "Confity" but that has the same issue as above.

Any help would be appreciate. Perhaps I am missing a step.

Asus U35JC Laptop
(Intel GMA and Nvidia Graphics==> Nvidia disabled for power save)
Fresh Ubuntu 11.10 32bit.

I don't think my intel graphics have opengl yet, am working on that.

Thanks in advance,
mike

Krytarik
February 29th, 2012, 10:58 PM
Apparently, you are being logged in to Unity 2D, as a matter of fallback, because your current graphics setup, that is, Intel, doesn't support the regular Unity; you can check that by running:

/usr/lib/nux/unity_support_test -pYou can also check if Unity 2D is actually running by checking System Monitor for a couple of "unity-2d-*" processes, or on the command line:

ps ax |grep unity-2dIf the Intel graphics actually turns out to be not sufficient for running the regular Unity, you'll need to enable your Nvidia graphics, obviously.

Regards.

mtotho
February 29th, 2012, 11:22 PM
Apparently, you are being logged in to Unity 2D, as a matter of fallback, because your current graphics setup, that is, Intel, doesn't support the regular Unity; you can check that by running: