PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fresh install won't boot, suspect UEFI trouble.

Frodobunny2
February 29th, 2012, 03:57 AM
This is my first time using linux so I don't know any of its commands. That being said, I do know my way around a computer. This is also my first time using a computer with UEFI.

Problem:

I have been trying for the last few days to get ubuntu 11.10 amd64 to sucessfully install off of a usb flash drive. I can boot up in live mode, and the system appears to install correctly, however upon attempting to boot from the hard drive the error: "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device" is given and the system will not boot.

System information:

I am trying to load ubuntu on a MSI 970A-G45 mainboard running a AMD athelon II duel core processer. My hard drive is a Seagate 500 GB SATA hard drive that I think is good. The bios version is 1.4

More information:

I created the bootable USB drive using LILI. In the bios, the USB drive that I have been using has two boot options, a option to boot the flash drive itself, and an option to boot it in UEFI mode. No such option exists for my hard drive, making me think that their is something wrong with the boot loader or the UEFI (Or is that normal?) I can boot up in live mode and the file system seems to be intact. I have followed the links and suggestions found at this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1896052, as the symtoms seem similar, and have gotten nowhere. I have tried setting partitions manually and gotten nowhere. Trying to install 10.04 and then upgrading as suggested in that thread did yield a different result: I was unable to even boot into live mode. I have looked all over the web, and just cannot seem to find anything that works.

Could I please have some help? Anything would be dearly appreciated.

oldfred
February 29th, 2012, 05:53 PM