PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu_studio] Cannot get any output from JACK

spearlymatt
February 28th, 2012, 10:50 PM
Good afternoon everyone,

I've been experimenting with Ubuntu on various computers for about five years now, though I don't have a very technical understanding. I have one computer I built running Ubuntu 11.04 and Vista, and a laptop running only 11.04. Both have the studio packages on them (my first question is does 11.10 allow you to use any form of GNOME from a fresh install? Anywhere I read online is just about installing GNOME shell. I'm not a purist, I just tried Unity and found it very frustrating).

A year or two ago (maybe on Ubuntu 9.10?) I had my Akai LPK25 patched through my desktop, through JACK, Qsynth, Ardour, and various effects programs with it all working beautifully. I neglected it for awhile, and came back to find some error messages, and things weren't really working at all. I then took the opportunity to upgrade to 11.04 (just a few days ago, and removed then installed the studio packages. I start JACK, start QSynth, connect my keyboard to FluidSynth in the ALSA tab (as I always did before), and connect Qsynth to my output. The light shows up on QSynth when I strike a key, but no sound. The same goes for my laptop. On my laptop I just connected the mic inputs to the system output and got crazy feedback, so I can get (some form of) sound.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I've probably just made a stupid mistake, or overlooked something along the way. If I remember when I first set it up, it was mostly guess work on my part. I also just burned an install DVD of Ubuntu Studio 11.04, if you think a fresh install would fix the issues.