PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Would like to start helping with issues

Jake5
February 24th, 2012, 04:16 PM
Hello, I am new to Linux all together. I have been unsure about linux for years, but have always wanted to give it a try. I recently installed 11.10 and I will never go back to windows or a mac...ecxept for when i absolutely need them. I love the open source format, I love the entire Libre lineup. I have had my fair share of bugs to work out, fairly simple stuff really, my computers wouldnt shut down after i installed another user account, fixed with sudo update-data...etc.. Anyways I am anxious to start helping with other issues, Im not incredibly handy in the terminal, but i would like to be. If anyone has a good starter project recomendation, I would love to do whatever i can to learn more and eventually start fixing actual bugs, or writing programs, or whatever. I just want to help...real bad.

roelforg
February 24th, 2012, 04:21 PM
I'd say (i'm assuming you wanna be a poweruser here):
* Try learning C/C++ (C++ is more powerful and is easier and learning C after that will help a lot)
* Browse around a bit here
* Get some experience in using ubuntu normally (you'll need that)
* Learn to use Google efficiently (timesaver!)
* Learn Bash (basics are usually enough)
* Take some computers apart and put them back together (hands on is the best way to learn what hw is in your pc)
* After the Bash basics, get some experience in the cli.
* And questions are always a good thing here.
* ALWAYS remember that with linux, the cli is THE most powerful thing there is.

I'll add some when i think of them.

Also, those problems with your pc's; create a few threads here for them so we can all help solve them. This will get you some feeling for the system.

Jake5
February 24th, 2012, 04:34 PM
I'd say (i'm assuming you wanna be a poweruser here):
* Try learning C/C++ (C++ is more powerful and is easier and learning C after that will help a lot)
* Browse around a bit here