PDA

View Full Version : At what point do you think of yourself as a Linux "Guru" or "Professional"?

nikonian
February 22nd, 2012, 03:30 AM
At what point did you, do you, or would you consider yourself a Linux "Guru" or "Professional"? I have been using Linux since around 2003-2004 (not sure exactly), and I know quite a fair amount, but I would never refer to myself as a "Guru" or "Professional", as I find branding oneself in such a way, to be not only rather boastful, but there's always someone who knows more. I am not saying I am not valuable... but I am not saying my skills are invaluable either.

I have a couple of friends who call me a "genius", which is ever so kind of them, but I am really not. God gave me the gifts that I use to polish my skills, and I thank him for that, so I cannot take *all* the credit, eh!

Any comments? :)

Thanks.

Linuxratty
February 22nd, 2012, 04:09 AM
Never.Yeah,I've used it eight years,but a guru I'm not.

Copper Bezel
February 22nd, 2012, 04:11 AM
You need at least some formal training or some serious development contribution history to count as a guru, I think. "Professional" would be simpler to define - do you get paid to do it?

Gremlinzzz
February 22nd, 2012, 04:17 AM
The first time i got it installed wasn't easy with breezy:popcorn:

ikt
February 22nd, 2012, 04:20 AM
When I stop requiring tutorials to do everything.

NadirPoint
February 22nd, 2012, 04:23 AM
If that's what you think, then you're not it.

lisati
February 22nd, 2012, 04:27 AM
I think of myself more as a hobbyist than a guru or a professional: as others have noted, there are often others who know more than I do visiting the forum.

nikonian
February 22nd, 2012, 04:42 AM
You need at least some formal training or some serious development contribution history to count as a guru, I think. "Professional" would be simpler to define - do you get paid to do it?