PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual booting of win7 and ubuntu, 64 bits

garber
February 21st, 2012, 11:06 AM
Deal all,

I know this subject was already discussed here, but since I am not an expert, I would like to get "an algorithm" step-by-step how to solve the problem, if possible. So please do not send me to the previous thread.

I bought a new computer HP compaq 8200, and I am trying to install ubuntu 11.10 along Windows 7, both 64 bits.

I installed the Windows, and then when I am trying to install the Ubuntu, it does not recognize the installed win 7 OS.

Can you write me a sequence of operations I should do for overcoming this problem?

Thank you very much,
David Garber
garberad@gmail.com

Bucky Ball
February 21st, 2012, 11:09 AM
Welcome. Open a terminal and type (or safer to copy/paste) this:

sudo update-grubRestart. That should pick up Windows if it is there. Are you sure it is? Give that a try.

garber
February 21st, 2012, 11:15 AM
One moment - when do I do this ?

The problem is that during the installation of ubuntu I am doing the partition for the linux, which might ruin the Windows because it is not recognizing it.

Thanks, David.

darkod
February 21st, 2012, 12:08 PM
With the ubuntu cd boot into live mode (Try Ubuntu), open terminal and run:
sudo fdisk -l (small L)

Post the results.

EDIT: Have you used this disk in raid before? Or is it running raid now?

jana05
February 21st, 2012, 12:47 PM
Deal all,
I installed the Windows, and then when I am trying to install the Ubuntu, it does not recognize the installed win 7 OS.

Please list the steps you did and the results???

garber
February 21st, 2012, 12:49 PM
here it is. Thanks.

==============

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
256 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60563 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x2bbccc5e