PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Found Running at a Gas Station

tekkidd
February 19th, 2012, 02:16 AM
I was at a gas station today and noticed that Ubuntu was running on the display that usually has advertisements. It apparently rebooted and got stuck at the grub menu. Check it out: http://www.tekkidd.com/2012/02/ubuntu-spotted-found-at-kroger-gas.html

cwklinuxguy
February 19th, 2012, 02:27 AM
Haha NICCEEE! I suggested it as the Runs Linux for the Linux Action Show! :)

Cool to see Ubuntu running in a gas station. Now, if only we can find Ubuntu running in an electric charging station...

speedwell68
February 19th, 2012, 02:33 AM
I work for a local Park & Ride service, I am a CCTV operator. The bus stops on our route are running Ubuntu 8.04.

tekkidd
February 19th, 2012, 02:37 AM
I work for a local Park & Ride service, I am a CCTV operator. The bus stops on our route are running Ubuntu 8.04.

They should consider upgrading. Ubuntu 8.04 is getting old.

speedwell68
February 19th, 2012, 02:58 AM
They should consider upgrading. Ubuntu 8.04 is getting old.

It runs an LED display giving bus arrival times on a closed network. It is a case of if it ain't broke then don't fix it.

doorknob60
February 19th, 2012, 06:31 AM
Yeah a couple years ago I was at a local grocery store and one of their TVs that shows ads and stuff was rebooting, and it was Ubuntu, looked like around 7.04, and it booted and then VLC autostarted and started playing the ads, made me happy :P

LillyDragon
February 19th, 2012, 07:39 AM
Haha! That is so cool; never would have expected to see the GRUB menu at a gas pump! =P

Sure beats a BSOD, 'cause I've seen them on the fail blog way more than once! Take this one for instance: http://work.failblog.org/2011/11/24/job-fails-the-blue-screen-of-death-hits-best-buy/

And that's not even the worst half of it. >_>

3rdalbum
February 19th, 2012, 08:31 AM