PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] All kinds of confusing issues.

exzou
February 18th, 2012, 11:08 PM
I am using an acer aspire 5516 1.76 gb of usuable ram and an AMD athlon tf - 20 dual booting vista basic and xubuntu (all my issues i am experiencing happened in ubuntu as well). as i am typing this i cant right click to use spell check, im unable to close the web browser because the entire upper bar (where the minamize and maxamize buttons are) when i try to save a document it wont save anything i have done in the past 2 hours. (i email them and redownload them to get it to work) the system feels like it hangs.

i am fairly new to linux but i am very comfortable in windows and as much as i cant stand windows anymore, i am tempted to go back. i am a student and cannot afford to constantly be losing information from my term papers or re install the os every time i have a problem. this instalation of xubuntu has been on my laptop for maybe 4 days and just started doing this again. any help would be greatly appreciated. if there is more info you need just let me know.

3Miro
February 18th, 2012, 11:44 PM
My guess is that the issues that you have come from your video card Radeon X1200. For many years ATI had no support for Linux and while AMD has made huge efforts to improve ATI support, the older graphics cards do not work very well. IIRK AMD recently dropped support for X1200 completely and many people with those cards are experiencing problems. Unfortunately this has nothing to do with Linux or Ubuntu.

There is very little that you can do. You can try installing Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, but it will have support for only about a year. Debian 6 will have longer support, but Debian is not as friendly to install.

Note that I may be wrong and your issues may be elsewhere. If you explain your problems carefully someone may be able to help.

exzou
February 19th, 2012, 12:22 AM