PDA

View Full Version : How do I copy my Windows files while in Ubuntu?

computers101
February 17th, 2012, 08:15 PM
Hi. I am very new to Ubuntu and I have a question on copying windows files. First, though, I have to say that I really enjoy using Ubuntu (in trial mode at the moment) and the community here has been great.

A Windows issue actually led me to discover Ubuntu and I'm hoping that with system's help I can recover my Windows files.

Right now I can see my files in Ubuntu. It says 389 GB at the top of the left menu. My question today has to do with retrieving those files and getting them to work with Windows again after I restore my laptop.

I have a new external hard drive that I'd like to copy these files to.

If would be great if someone could tell me what I need to do or direct me to a resource that outlines the steps. I searched through the forum a few times but couldn't quite find what I was looking for.

Any thoughts or ideas would be very helpful.

Thanks.

winh8r
February 17th, 2012, 08:19 PM
You can just plug in an external disk drive (HDD) and drag them across from the internal hard drive to the external.

I am assuming that you are referring to your personal files like documents , pictures, music etc. ?

computers101
February 17th, 2012, 08:31 PM
Hi. You're right, its files like pictures, documents and movies. It would be great if my applications like skype, utility programs, etc were there but I'd settle for just the personal files.

I'll try and move the files. I was thinking I needed to do something to the drive first, and also that I would run into difficulty with the Ubuntu copied files when trying to have windows open them.

What do you think?

Apanta
Hi.
The way is the same used for win:

Open the folder where Win files are and select them.
Clic on right button of the mouse and select copy --- then open the storage folder where you like to put these files and new clic on right button of the mouse --- paste.