PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Simple way to completely revert interface changes after maverick?

Dreamer Fithp Apprentice
February 15th, 2012, 09:43 PM
I've been using Ubuntu primarily for a couple of years now, but I am for the first time, about ready to give up on it. Every time I try updating past 10.10 the desktop, windows and so on, basically everything to do with the user interface, goes to [censored][bleep]. I've tried following instructions in a lot of the threads that purport to restore the old look but none of them seem to address more than a small part of the changes. I want my old themes. I want my old scripts for toggling color schemes and font sizes to work. I want my old tweaked gnome panels back. I'm tired of half assed "kinda like it used to be" work arounds. As it stands right now, nothing past 10.10 is worth a darn to me. But there are some things I want that require apparently a newer version. So I'm beginning to think it will be less effort to try another distro altogether. Maybe go back to Sabayon or try BSD. It looks like restoring the old UNBROKEN user interface is going to be as much work as learning BSD would be so maybe my time would be better spent there. Is there any way out of this nightmare or is it just FUBAR?

cwklinuxguy
February 15th, 2012, 10:03 PM