PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't update Firefox

Ddeeff
February 14th, 2012, 10:45 PM
Hi all!

A while ago I tried to update Firefox and failed. I ended up with two shortcuts in the xfce's menus both pointing to 5.0.1

So I've finally gotten up the willpower to try again. I searched online and found the following code somewhere:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:mozillateam/firefox-stable
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
After trying this. the terminal appeared to be downloading and installing firefox as I was running it, which I thought was odd. So I tried quitting and restarting firefox, then rebooting then starting firefox, but to no avail: the 'About Firefox' window still says 5.0.1.

My theory is that Firefox has been downloaded and installed elsewhere on the system. So how do I (1) locate the updated firefox, (2) refer all my shortcuts to the new version and (3) delete an item from XFCE's menu?

(by the way, I'm a Linux newbie, so I originally installed Ubuntu, got annoyed with Unity and Gnome 3 and installed xfce. It is adequate enough for me. I don't know whether the thread should be [xubuntu] prefixed instead)

winh8r
February 14th, 2012, 10:50 PM
You would be best to take a look here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1712247&highlight=firefox+mega+thread

this should help you out

EDIT**** please read through it all before doing anything!

Ddeeff
February 14th, 2012, 11:01 PM
I have already tried there; the two options for me are manual and automatic installation

Automatic installation

You just need to do a regular update/upgrade to get the latest stable version
Yes, this hasn't worked for me for a while. I've tried using Ubunntu Software Centre, but there is no button to upgrade. I've tried Update Manager, but it's not in there - I've tried looking for a repository in there that might be unchecked but I can't find one.

Manual installation