PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] xubuntu 11.10 on Acer Aspire One 532h

10nw21
February 14th, 2012, 07:06 PM
Hi all,
I am new to the linux/ubuntu world, and I am looking to ditch the clunky windows 7 Starter on my netbook, which is an Acer Aspire One 532h. It has an Intel Atom N450 CPU, which wikipedia leads me to believe is based on 64-bit architecture and uses (U)EFI, specifically the InsydeH2O version. The netbook has no disc drive, and I don't want to buy a drive just to install ubuntu.

I am trying to put xubuntu 11.10 on here, and having no luck. I tried using both LiLi and Pendrive to make a bootable USB flash, and I set the BIOS ( or whatever the term for that is ) to boot from USB. When I start up the computer, the screen flashes a line of text saying something about syslinux, goes green for a second, and then all I see is a flashing underscore in the corner and nothing happens.

The netbook has three options to boot from USB: USB HDD, USB CD-ROM, and USB FDD. Process of elimination tells me that it is booting the flash drive as an FDD.

I have tried compiling the boot drive with both 32-bit and 64-bit xubuntu with no luck; it wont ever boot.

I tried searching for how to install ubuntu on an EFI system, but I am still confused as to why it wont boot on my netbook. I really need to get it ready to go by Friday, so all help is appreciated!

Thanks!

Mark Phelps
February 15th, 2012, 05:57 PM
I had a similar situation when I made a bootable USB with Ubuntu 12.04 Alpha 1 -- and the PC refused to boot into a desktop.

So, having made the USB using unetbootin, I remade it using Pendrive. And this time, it booted.

Then recently, I did the same thing again using 12.04 Alpha 2, and this time, unetbooting made the working USB, and the Pendrive version failed.

So, it looks like the "bootable USB installer" stuff is very hit-and-miss.

cortman
February 15th, 2012, 06:24 PM