PDA

View Full Version : What would you like to see in a Linux office suite or word processor?

Copper Bezel
February 14th, 2012, 06:46 AM
So, I've been meaning to post this for a bit, and this post (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1924692) kicked me off.

What would you like to see in an office suite or word processor for Linux, or any platform? What are your absolute-must-have features, what would be nice, and what's the "clutter" you'd rather see left out?

For a bit of background, I'm an English instructor, so I spend quite a bit of time with LibreOffice. It's not pretty, and there are a lot of hassles and little unpleasant surprises, but it more or less works for me. Still, LibreOffice still feels like an imitation of MS Office 2003, even if it does quite a lot more, and it's just not very flashy; it always seems to me to be the weak point of Ubuntu's default software suite and the one application no one ever shows off to a Windows user, as it were. (I mean, compare it to the big open source browsers, or even the text editors and file managers in Gnome and KDE, which really sell on their own unique merits.)

Naturally, too, I'm less interested in business use than home and academic applications. MS Office seems overworked and very business-oriented, of course, and web services like Google's or MS's don't really provide the feature set I need, and I frequently wish that there was a solid FOSS word processing app built around home and academic use. I'm focused on the word processor here, rather than an office suite, because I really think that the traditional bundle that Microsoft started is a bit artificial, and the benefit to integrating the spreadsheet package with the other two is another consideration mainly for business use.