PDA

View Full Version : Frustrations with Ubuntu

userub
February 11th, 2012, 02:16 PM
I've been using Ubuntu for about two years. I switched from Windows Vista because it was faster. However, I've had a lot of frustrations with it.

It seems from reading through message boards that people like to use Ubuntu for creating scripts. I don't know how to do that. I can barely understand how to use the Terminal. I only know some basic commands like 'cd' and 'ls'.

What do people do with the Terminal? For me, it's harder to navigate with the Terminal than it is with the GUI. I have to type out 'ls' after the 'cd' command just to see where I'm going. And then I have to copy the folder name if it has a lot of characters. I don't know how to do it any other way.

I've tried to learn more, but I'm at a loss as to where to begin.

mips
February 11th, 2012, 03:07 PM
You don't have to use the terminal. Why do you wan't to use it?
Ubuntu is actually going the way of the tablet/smart phone interface to 'dumb it down' for the masses that are already familiar with these interfaces.

Anyway, here is a free book for you http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1917688

infectedorganism
February 11th, 2012, 03:23 PM
I understand your frustration. I have used Ubuntu on and off for about a year and I still struggle with certain things. My advice: whenever you run into a problem or come upon a question, google it. Instead of the initial frustration, try and learn about how to solve or answer the question you have. That may not be what you want to hear, but consider how much time you have spent in the Windows environment. How long did it take you to learn all of that stuff? In my opinion, it is all relative. We will eventually learn the ins and outs of Ubuntu and Linux, it will just take some time; just as it took some time to learn Windows.

Linuxratty
February 11th, 2012, 03:57 PM