PDA

View Full Version : If I could get another person to switch to Ubuntu/Linux, it would make my day...

rectec794613
February 11th, 2012, 10:08 AM
I have been loving Ubuntu for almost 5 years now, but so far I haven't gotten a single person to switch, as far as I know. I would absolutely love to see someone give Ubuntu a try, but I don't think that will happen any time soon. So I need some advice.

I know all my friends socially, as in we only know eachother's social life, I.E. typical teenager stuff: relationships, life, school, etc. But I don't know their tech lifestyle, I.E. what OS they use.

I'm afraid to ask them about this because I know this is not important to many people and I have to keep my reputation as a "cool socialite" up. The closest I've ever gotten was with my neighbor, with whom I have a mild technological connection. I proposed him using Ubuntu many times, and each time he refused. He hadn't even tried it, yet he thought it sucked because of some minor issues he'd witnessed before. He gives me no chance.

Well anyway, here are my questions:

How would I start a technology-based relationship with someone in which technology doesn't much matter?
I want to ease this into our conversations. What would I do to best try to convince people to give Ubuntu a try?
How would I make this as easiest as possible on them?
Where can I find people who I can talk about and possible convince them to try Ubuntu?
What kind of people might be inclined to switch?

Thank you.

Sylos
February 11th, 2012, 10:16 AM