PDA

View Full Version : Howto: Get Network Manager to stop asking you for your keyring password (pam_keyring)

Kawayanan
June 8th, 2006, 08:29 PM
Howto: Get Network Manager to stop asking you for your keyring password

I am by no means an expert on PAM (Pluggable Authentication Module) or pam_keyring so I wanted to start by acknowleging where I got my info:

Mike Petullo - first wrote the pam_keyring module
Jonathan Nettleton - current maintainer of pam_keyring and added code to allow this module to work with the older PAM included with Ubuntu
s31523 and Buell (from these forums) - for posting the topic (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=187874) and comment (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=1090142&postcount=4) that helped me get this working.

After I got my wireless working in 6.06 using Network Manager I was very happy, but it would be nice not to have to enter the keyring password after logging in. Luckily, there is a PAM module pam_keyring that will automatically unlock your gnome keyring when you login. You can find pam_keyring and more info here (http://www.hekanetworks.com/pam_keyring/). Pam_keyring is not currently an available package for Ubuntu, but you can get it installed pretty easily on 6.06. For this to work, your login password and your keyring password must be the same. If the two passwords are not the same, there are a few possibilities. (See below)**

Pam_keyring requires the following packages (I think they are installed by default in 6.06):
gnome-keyring >= 0.4.8
gnome-session >= 2.10
pam >= 0.77

Since you will need to compile pam_keyring from source, you will also need some development packages. Here are the additional packages that I needed to install (were not installed by default in 6.06):

build-essential
libtool
libglib2.0-dev
libgnome-keyring-dev
libpam0g-dev