PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Noob trying to install Ubuntu 11.10 on windows 7 64bit with VMware

lilbballer27
February 8th, 2012, 11:38 PM
So as the title says I am a big noob at this but I would really like to learn Linux and Ubuntu but I am having trouble from the very beginning or atleast I think so lol. When I try to install Ubuntu with VMware player 7 it only takes me to a black screen and then after it says its doing easy install I am left with a black screen that says type "help" when I do so a list of commands I can type are displayed.

Now I am a noob like stated but is what I'm getting Ubuntu successfully installed or did I do something wrong? Sorry if this is a bad question.

Thank you for the help!

cbanakis
February 8th, 2012, 11:55 PM
I can't really help because I have never used VMware Player.

Have you tried Virtual Box?
http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/4.1.8/VirtualBox-4.1.8-75467-Win.exe

Just using that may solve your problem.

And at least if it does not work, you will probably get much more community support, because virtual box is available for windows, mac, and linux.

So people of every creed can help you. :)

It is also free, and I believe it is among the best.

Gosy
February 8th, 2012, 11:55 PM
I'm a noob also, but 2 brains are allways better than one! :)
Are you trying to install the server edition or the desktop ( with graphical gui ) ?

TheFu
February 9th, 2012, 12:03 AM
If you post your VM settings, we may be able to suggest better choices for better supported virtual hardware.
Also, if you are trying to run any VMware/VirtualBox on a system with less than 1.5GB of RAM, you should probably stop and get more RAM.

The amount of information you've provided doesn't help us to determine the root cause for any issues. Tell us about your real PC AND the virtual settings for the VM.
* RAM
* disk (allocated and free)
* CPUs
* networking
* HDD controllers
are a good start.

lilbballer27
February 9th, 2012, 02:59 AM