PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing ALFA AWUS036NHR on Ubuntu 11.10. HELP!!!!

eliashernandez
February 8th, 2012, 12:41 AM
I need help. I haven't been sleeping because I cant figure it out!:( I am very new to Ubuntu and I really need to get this USB wireless running. Im running Ubuntu 11.10 on a virtual machine. It's 64 -bit. Please if someone could tell me how to install the DRIVERS (which is what i need to knwo how to do it) will be awesome. It comes with some instruction, but as far as I know that is just to make the driver yourself and Im not at that level yet.:(

wildmanne39
February 8th, 2012, 01:28 AM
Hi, your virtual machine uses your host internet connection it does not use its own connection so if you have a working connection on your host machine you should have a working connection on your guest.
Thanks

eliashernandez
February 15th, 2012, 07:46 PM
My internet connection works fine! that is not the problem. The problem comes when I turn off the computer's wifi and try to use the device to get wireless. The problem is that i do not know how to make it work. Because I tried it on my OSX mac and Windows and it works fine, I Just do not know how to install it in ubuntu

haqking
February 15th, 2012, 07:55 PM
My internet connection works fine! that is not the problem. The problem comes when I turn off the computer's wifi and try to use the device to get wireless. The problem is that i do not know how to make it work. Because I tried it on my OSX mac and Windows and it works fine, I Just do not know how to install it in ubuntu

you probably need to blacklist rt2800.

That chipset on the Alfa works out of the box on most linux distros i use, though there is a problem with it in Debian, but works fine in others.

3rdalbum
February 15th, 2012, 11:25 PM
Listen.