PDA

View Full Version : ThinkPad t520

cbennett926
February 7th, 2012, 03:01 AM
Hello,

Does anyone have a ThinkPad t520 (or any in general) if so what do you guys think? I play three games so gaming isn't a big deal, although it is fun, and I am a programmer so I know the keyboard is fantastic, just curious what everyone thinks?

mips
February 7th, 2012, 08:37 AM
Thinkpads are great notebooks.

szymon_g
February 7th, 2012, 10:49 AM
although thinkpad's keyboard has an opinion of "great", i wouldn't say its so super-dooper: fn and ctrl as in invalid positions (although, AFAIK, you can change that in bios), escape and F<n> keys aren't in proper position.
But, those changes aren't that bad- you can got used to it.
Ah, and if you do not plan to use laptop in direct sunlight, there is little reason to pick up matte display- it isn't really good for general computing.
If you wanna feel the power boost, use ssd drive (and put harddrive in a disk caddy- for storage) :)

Duncan J Murray
February 7th, 2012, 11:05 PM
I haven't used a t520, but when my laptop goes, I'd be thinking about something along those lines (probably more the t420s).

I don't think anything compares to the thinkpad line. I've used my thinkpad T40 for the last 8 years as my only computer, and it just doesn't skip a beat*.

The only things that come close are maybe the Dell Latitude line (but I find it's much less well thought-out) and the Apple Macbook Pro (although machined nicely, it's not as easy to do things like swapping out the harddrive, battery etc... - at least, that was the case 8 years ago!)

I'm just slightly disappointed they included a windows key in recent versions. I like the big CTRL!

D