PDA

View Full Version : A development project not for women, but done by women

urbandryad
June 8th, 2006, 03:00 PM
I noticed that this forum is a little light on conversation, so I thought it would be great for us women, all of us, to start working on a project together that everybody can use. Not a project FOR woman, not a women themed based project, but something done and coded by women.

I think a few of the following ideas, anybody can come up with anything else please add to it! I'm not a developer the most I'd be able to do is test the project on my PPC blueberry clamshell, or do some graphics in gimp.

Web Browser (light and small, all the browsers I've seen are huge on space requirements and have a billion uneccesary features)

Desktop: We have Ubuntu (Gnome) Kubuntu (KDE) and Xubuntu (XFCE) and dozens of others. How about something we can some up with for a certain user in mind? Maybe something with Fluxbox, or even Gnome or KDE but lighter, for slower computers, or maybe just a desktop theme?

Icones: We can all make icons. :) I'm thinking of doing a Harry Potter icon set. What if every woman in the forum did one icon, then we packaged them all together for people to download as a set? That would be fun.

Thats all I can come up with. Good idea? :3 Like making a group peice of artwork, but with usibility.

franestepona
June 8th, 2006, 03:04 PM
What about a cursor theme? i am pretty bored of the classical one and can't find any good one.

Fran.

FryerFox
June 8th, 2006, 03:21 PM
Web Browser (light and small, all the browsers I've seen are huge on space requirements and have a billion uneccesary features)

Desktop: We have Ubuntu (Gnome) Kubuntu (KDE) and Xubuntu (XFCE) and dozens of others. How about something we can some up with for a certain user in mind? Maybe something with Fluxbox, or even Gnome or KDE but lighter, for slower computers, or maybe just a desktop theme?