PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is there a Turbo C for linux ubuntu 11.10?

shreyas_patel21
February 2nd, 2012, 07:35 AM
Hi all

is there any program like turbo C in ubuntu 11.10 in which we can compile and run C code?

TheFu
February 2nd, 2012, 09:01 AM
gcc is the C compiler.
If you want a lite IDE, I can recommend Geany, but lots of C programmers use vi or emacs too.

Back when I was a professional C/C++ dev, we generally use an editor, like vi, a separate debugger, gdb, and a separate build tool - called "make".

I'm fairly certain there are turbo-C like IDEs available, but they will make calls to the external tools - make, gdb, gcc.
I'd search here http://freecode.com/search?q=IDE&submit=Search to find lots of IDE options.

shashankvatedka
February 2nd, 2012, 09:07 AM
Hi,

Linux has a built in C compiler and you don't need any additional software. Lets say you want to create a program called filename.c.
Just open a terminal and type

user-desktop:~$ gedit filename.c

The editor opens wherein you can type your program. After saving the file, go back to the terminal to compile your file. Use

user-desktop:~$ gcc -o filename filename.c

To run the file just use

shashank@smart-desktop:~$ ./filename

Instead of gcc, you can also use

shashank@smart-desktop:~$ cc filename.c

To run the file, type

shashank@smart-desktop:~$ ./a.out

Hope this helps! :D

shreyas_patel21
February 4th, 2012, 08:35 PM
thank you shashank..

I compiled it successfully but i am not able to run it

should I write $ ./hello.c to run hello.c?

shreyas_patel21
February 4th, 2012, 08:38 PM
thank you again I run it successfully.

sherlock007
November 4th, 2012, 01:54 PM
can any one help me on this problem.... When i run the exe file, a pop up message for me is .. Here is the message below...