PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need Help Partitioning Hard Drive & Installing Windows 7

belliot2
January 30th, 2012, 02:12 AM
Hi,

I just built a new computer yesterday and installed Ubuntu on it. I now want to partition the hard drive so I can run either Ubuntu or Windows 7 on it. My hard drive is 1TB so space isn't really an issue as this is a brand new computer. I'm a computer science major and I can get Windows 7 (download, not the disc) for free thanks to the college.

I've never used a dual-boot before so I want to make sure I get this right. Can anyone instruct me on how to go about this??

Thanks

kevdog
January 30th, 2012, 03:06 AM
Its actually very easy.

You need to install windows first then windows 7. I usually like to do this two separate hard-drives, but you don't have to -- the reason is that if one of OS dies (like during a future upgrade) you don't bork the other.

You'll neep to partition your drive. At a minimum you'll need a boot partition, a Ubuntu partition and Windows partition. I usually add two additional partitions for my Ubuntu installs, /home and /swap, however this is not mandatory.

You also need to think about the journaling system you are going to use. Windows uses ntfs which Ubuntu can read and write to. New versions of Ubuntu want to install ext4 by default, however I'd think about doing ext3 partitions so Windows could read and write to the Ubuntu partition with help from an external program such as ext2fs for windows. If this isn't important to you, then don't worry about it.

I usually use the stand alone Gparted OS (can be run directly from a CD) to partition my discs. I usually download the iso file and burn it to disk, and then boot from cd, allow the OS to detect my hard drive(s), and partition at will. I then would install windows, and finally Ubuntu.

belliot2
January 30th, 2012, 03:14 AM
You need to install windows first then windows 7.