PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Kernel Update: Scary error messages on boot - what next?

Redflea
January 27th, 2012, 07:19 AM
I was having wifi problems (very slow performance) so I decided to try upgrading the kernel.

Since I'm a Linux noob, I looked for a simple approach and found this:

http://www.ramoonus.nl/2011/05/19/linux-kernel-2-6-39-installation-guide-for-ubuntu-linux/

Used that to upgrade the kernel to:

2.6.39-020639-generic

Rebooted, selected that kernel, and after a couple scary error messages things booted fine and wifi internet is SCREAMING fast.

Assuming nothing significant is borked w/the new kernel install, I AM HAPPY!

So based on the error messages (see attached picture), how much do I need to worry?

Any advice on an alternate 2.6.39-020639-generic kernel install process that might clean up error messages?

varunendra
January 27th, 2012, 01:00 PM
To me, both of those messages ("Driver 'mdio-gpio' is already registered, aborting...." and "..thermal reporting for required devices not enabled, aborting.") seem harmless, and a quick search suggests that they are perhaps commonly associated with custom built kernels which have certain kind of supports not enabled during compilation (mistakenly or intentionally).

You may check your /etc/modules file to see if it has an entry for mdio-gpio module, as suggested in this thread:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/a-small-error-of-booting-on-kernel-3-0-0-a-895373/
Comment it out (or delete the line) if there is.

Although both of these seem harmless, they seem to disappear with a kernel upgrade. Accordingly, you may try installing a newer (backported) kernel from here (https://launchpad.net/%7Ekernel-ppa/+archive/ppa). But if everything is working fine despite those messages, I'd say just leave it since backported kernels may sometimes cause stability problems with some systems.