PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu dual-boot hard drive partition question

SocProf
January 25th, 2012, 08:49 PM
Hi, I am new to Linux and Ubuntu and have a question about my new harddrive partition. Last night I successfully installed Ubuntu 11.10 from a USB alongside Windows 7, partitioning the hard drive. I allocated 20GB to Ubuntu, and the during the first attempt to install Ubuntu, the installation crashed (had to do with installing some third party software). At any rate, I just installed it again with a modification and everything turned out alright. When I look at how the hard drive is partitioned though, I think it might have made two separate partitions! In short, Ive got 40 GB (not 20GB) approx. allocated to Ubuntu on an 'extended drive.' When I look at my harddrive using the Gparted Partition editor, the system is divided into these partitions:

/dev/sda1 ntfs Label = "system" Size = 1.46 GB
/dev/sda2 ntfs Label = "TI106140W0C" Size = 238.25 GB
/dev/sda3 ntfs Hidden Recovery 11.18GB

/dev/sda4 extended Size = 47.20 GB [twice the size its supposed to be]
/dev/sda7 ext4 Size = 19.47 GB
/dev/sda8 linux-swap Size = 3.87GB
/dev/sda5 ext4 Size = 19.98 GB [I am thinking this is a copy of sda7]
/dev/sda6 linux-swap Size = 3.87GB [I am thinking this is a copy of sda8]

Basically, it seems that linux is located in sda4, which is twice as big as it should be and there are two copies of everything in this extended partition. When I turn on my computer also, it is confusing because instead of having a few options (e.g. start windows normally, Ubuntu, or some Windows recovery), there are like 8 or 9, which seem redundant. There doesn't seem to be any problem running anything, but I think I may have wasted some hard drive space. I am wondering if this partition schema is normal for Ubuntu 11.10, and if not, whether I can allocate just 20GB to linux, and the rest to Windows. I have already checked out a few support pages, including: