PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need to recover data Ubuntu installation overwrote

jprealini
January 25th, 2012, 07:24 AM
Hi... I am a newbie with Ubuntu, so please forgive any stupidity.
I just finished installing Ubuntu 11.10 in my computer. Have 2 HHDD's... boot HD has windows 7 in it, and the I have a 1.5 TB disk, partitioned in 2. One of the partitions was being used to save data (pictures, movies, work stuff), and the second one was empty.

When Ubuntu installation started, I didn't realize it didn't ask me in what partition to install itself, and when it ended and booted, I realized that my whole data partition was gone.

I desperately need to recover all that information (about 300 GB). Is there a way to uninstall ubuntu, leaving my partition or whole disk as it was before the installation?

Any help will be appreciated

carl4926
January 25th, 2012, 07:36 AM
You have to be kidding?

A possibility is TestDisk. But if you are new to Linux, then this will be a challenge for you.
Parted Magic includes TestDisk

I have a .pdf I will PM you. It may help

bluexrider
January 25th, 2012, 07:39 AM
FIRST THING IS TO STOP USING THE PARTITION THAT WAS OVERWRITTEN.

Now. If you can use the Windows installation there is a recovery software that may work for you its call Recuva and it FREE. http://www.piriform.com/recuva

I have used it in the past with good success. If you are using Ubuntu then Testdisk and Photorec are good recovery tools. http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Download

jprealini
January 25th, 2012, 02:01 PM
Thank you for the tips...

I tried Recuva, but when I try to point to drive D: (where the partitions were) I get the "Volume D: is not formatted. Do you want to format it now?" message... I try to run Recuva with the first option (search all files) but I don't get any deleted file from drive D:... so I guess it won't work